Wednesday, August 28, 2013

NRCOI Fall 2013 Webinars

-------- Original Message --------
Subject: NRCOI Fall 2013 Webinars
Date: Wed, 28 Aug 2013 13:08:27 -0400
From: NRCOI <>
To: NRCOI <>

We are writing to announce the 2013 Fall Webinars sponsored by the National Child Welfare Resource Center for Organizational Improvement (NRCOI):

September 26, 2013:  “New Hampshirizing” Implementation Research:  Making It Work for Your System:  Join us for this discussion of lessons learned about implementation through the child welfare system change initiatives supported by the Northeast and Caribbean Implementation Center (NCIC), one of five regional Implementation Centers (ICs) that have been part of the Children’s Bureau Training and Technical Assistance (T/TA) Network over the past five years. Implementation stages and drivers will come alive as our presenters and child welfare leaders from New Hampshire discuss how these implementation research ideas have been applied as the agency has implemented a practice model.

Findings from the NCIC evaluation and observations across all the NCIC projects will also be shared as presenters explore what contributes to a strong implementation process, and how these projects can be sustained.

OBJECTIVES:  Participants in this session will:

Have an increased understanding of key strategies for successful implementation of change initiatives in child welfare

Learn how implementation stages and drivers supported implementation of New Hampshire’s practice model implementation

PRESENTERS:  Maggie Bishop, Director, Division of Children, Youth and Families (DCYF), New Hampshire; Todd Crumb, Senior Planner, DCYF, New Hampshire; Penthea Burns, Northeast and Caribbean Implementation Center (NCIC) Site Liaison, New Hampshire; David Lambert, Evaluation Director, NCIC

October 29, 2013: Scaling Up an Evidence Based Intervention:  A Discussion of Implementation:  Are you working on implementing or expanding evidence based interventions in your child welfare system?  This session will highlight Kansas’s experience with selecting and scaling up Parent Management Training – Oregon Model (PMTO) to improve permanency outcomes for children and youth with severe emotional disturbances (SED) under the five-year federal Permanency Innovation Initiative (PII).   Presenters from the child welfare agency, contractors in the privatized system, and the university will briefly describe their first year of work to explore the population’s needs and select an intervention to address those needs, and then will focus on the activities and challenges of the next two years of implementation.    These leaders will share their experience with using implementation frameworks, developed out of implementation research, to guide their efforts, and what they have learned about the supports that are critical during the implementation process.

Participants in this session will:

Have increased understanding of the challenges and supports critical to implementing an evidence based intervention.

Have increased knowledge of how implementation frameworks can help agencies implement an evidence based intervention

PRESENTERS:  Patricia Long, Program Administrator of Permanency, Kansas Department for Children and Family, Linda Bass, Vice President of Clinical and Well-Being Services, KVC Behavioral Healthcare, Inc., Vickie McArthur, Director of Clinical Services, St. Francis Community and Family Services, Becci Akin, Assistant Professor, University of Kansas School of Social Welfare, Thomas McDonald, Associate Dean and Professor, University of Kansas School of Social Welfare

All webinars are held at 2:30 pm Eastern, 1:30 pm Central, 12:30 pm Mountain, 11:30 am Pacific, 10:30 am Alaska, 9:30 am Hawaii and last for 90 minutes.

Register on-line for these free sessions here:

If you need assistance or have questions, email us at or call 1-800-HELPKID (435-7543).

The National Child Welfare Resource Center for Organizational Improvement  (NRCOI)
Cutler Institute for Health and Social Policy
USM Muskie School of Public Service
P.O. Box 9300/ 34 Bedford Street
Portland, ME 04104-9300
Ph: 1-800-435-7543 or 207-780-5878
Fax: 207-780-5817
TTY: 207-780-5646

No comments:

Post a Comment